Kitchen/Bathroom Reno Update

No, this hasn’t been forgotten, not at all. on Jan 9 I spent an hour and a half with my designer, Pam DeVries, poking around my kitchen and bathroom. She came up with some great ideas off the top of her head, and in conversation I realized she really does seem to be in this to get me what I want without costing me an arm and a leg. She made a couple suggestions for slightly less expensive things for me to consider, and as I’ve been dealing with her this week, I’ve decided that she’s going to be well worth whatever she ends up costing me.

We know there’s mold. I knew that, she could see that, and we both knew it was going to be a trickier proposition than just willy nilly ripping out walls. We have to start by having an assessment done of the nature and the extent of the mold, and it has to be removed by licensed contractors only. She called around and found that there’s a huge difference in contractors. The one was located here in town, was going to charge ‘travel time’, and supposedly could tell from looking at photos that their inspection would take 3 1/2 hours, with a further 4 hours of paperwork to follow, for a cost of over $800. The second one has all the same licensing, is also located here in town, does not charge ‘travel time’, lol, and has a base rate of $150, followed by his hourly rate. From the pics she sent him, he guessed it would cost us around $500 total for the assessment. She checked with me first, and is going to book an appointment with him for some time next week, during my available hours. If you feel the need to check him out, look here.

So until the mold issue is addressed, we can do nothing else. Which is ok. If I’m going to do this, I want to do it right, and thoroughly, end of discussion. Meanwhile, I am spending some of my spare time sorting through cupboards and drawers culling stuff we really don’t need or haven’t used in ages. I’m obviously going to have to box up my entire kitchen and bathroom, so might as well try to make the job slightly less….

If anyone out there has been through renovations like this and has any tips….I’m all ears. I’m prepared for it to be stressful and ugly, but it’ll be worth it in the end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

