Resistance is futile…

For the past three and a half years, ever since Sean joined Cubs, the various leaders have regularly tried to coerce me into becoming a leader. You’re great with kids, they’d say. You’re a bus driver, you’d be a natural. You have to come here anyways….

And for the past three and a half years, I have resisted. Why? The answer is actually quite simple.

I am a Leo. Leos are born leaders. I resist very hard this facet of my personality. Why? Not really sure. I guess I was raised to be a follower rather than a leader, but this aspect of a Leo is very hard to subdue. My past has shown this. Everything I have become involved with – I end up in a leadership role. In high school every time we had group work, I tried to sit silently and let others do the work, but always ended up being the organizer. I hated group work. When I signed up to be a volunteer host family with EF, I suppose I should’ve realized I’d eventually move up to become a Regional Co-ordinator. And when I started working at the bookstore, did I expect to work my way up to manager? I always look very carefully at anything I start, just in case my Leo tendencies take over….
Thus I didn’t want to become involved in Scouting. I know what’s going to happen. It always does. Doesn’t matter that I don’t plan for it, it’s there. You start as parent representative on the group council, and before you know what you’re saying, you hear yourself volunteering to step in as a temporary Cub leader to cover for someone who’s going away for a few months. And you know perfectly well it won’t be temporary, that in the fall when Cubs starts up again, you’ll be there as a leader, because that’s what Leos do. That’s what you do.

So why did I break down and agree? First off, I believe in what Scouting does. It’s a great program that has suffered lately. Secondly, they need someone to step in. Thirdly, I’ve been telling myself I really need to get out into the community more and expand my social circles. Not sure this is quite what I had in mind, but it’s a start…

So in a couple weeks, following the requisite police check, interview and training, I guess I’ll be given some peculiar new nickname, and sworn in as 2nd Brant’s newest Cub leader….What was I thinking????????

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

