Bricks and WHAT?

I followed a link on Facebook today to read an article on thestar.com about the concern with which publishers are watching the changes in process at Indigo stores. As a former book retailer, this interests me.

As an avid reader, and a self confessed member of the grammar police, I admit to being very turned off by errors in anything that is published, whether it be a book, a newspaper article, or online. If you want me to take you seriously, do not make blatant grammar errors. And yes, I admit, I am not perfect in that regard myself. The difference is, I am not writing with the intention of being read by anyone other than some close friends….

So when I came across the following description in the afore-mentioned article, it stopped me dead in my tracks….

Indigo was described twice as “Canada’s largest bricks-and-motor books retailer”

Say what?

Indigo sells bricks? Indigo sells bricks and motor books? What are motor books?

Presumably the expression the writer was looking for was “bricks and mortar”, a term used to refer to a physical store in a building, as opposed to a catalogue or online shop. How did this get past the proofreaders?

And yeah, I know it’s just me being anal, but maybe the author of the article needs to think before using an expression they aren’t familiar with…..

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bricks and WHAT?

  1. Heather Smedley says:

    AMEN sister!!

Leave a Reply

