Brianna’s marks…

I always used to have a hard time figuring out what to talk to my mom about. I never knew what she’d approve of, or want to hear. How the kids were doing in school was almost always a safe topic. Having been a teacher, marks and education mattered, so hearing that her grandchildren were doing well made her happy. Mind you, some of the stuff we went through with Brianna in the later elementary years was food for conversation with Mom too…

Brianna received her semester one report card today, and her marks were the best I’ve ever seen her get! She had a 90 in English, 85 in History, which is taught in French, 82 in her Foods (cooking) class (it was low because she had three idiot football players in her cooking group sabotaging the labs) and 63 in the Science class we were afraid she would fail.

I am very proud of her marks, but earlier tonight I found myself wishing so much that I could tell my mom about Brianna’s marks. She’d be proud.

Mom and I were never really close, but sometimes I sure miss her.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Brianna’s marks…

  1. Dawn says:

    I understand this completely. I grew up with an absentee father who was never there, but through it all, he was still my father…and I do miss him. I feel like a kindred spirit with you…knowing how close together our parents passed away, merely a few days. We had similar relationships with those parents.

    I feel what you are going through, and it sucks. I’m so sorry you’re dealing with this.

Leave a Reply

