The Canada Post Adventure Game – Round Two.

Loyal readers will recall my analogy of Canada Post as a video game, posted a couple weeks back. Well, we had round two today. And it was rather short.

Before I start, don’t waste your time telling me I should’ve done this a long time ago, that I should’ve redirected her mail within minutes of her death – I’m sorry, I’ve been kind of busy wrapped up in the mess that is my life these days, and frankly, hauling my ass all the way to the post office downtown hasn’t been real high on my list of priorities. Get over it.

So.

I gathered the death certificate and the letter from the lawyer and headed to the post office. Where I learned that the letter is not worth the paper it’s written on. The first thing the lady asked for was the will. Um…a)I don’t generally wander around town carrying my mother’s will in my pocket and b)there isn’t one. So I handed over my letter from the lawyer. She read it and said, “Well, I don’t know how much you paid for that, but it’s worthless. We have our own form you’ll have to take to your lawyer.”

Excuse me?

I have just handed you a perfectly legal letter, typed, signed and sealed by a lawyer, and you won’t accept it because it isn’t YOUR form? My letter says every single thing that is on your form, but, oh, it doesn’t have the Canada Post letterhead…. But no, Canada Post, you apparently are above the law and exempt from all human civility, so you don’t have to accept my letter.

Which means. If I so badly want to receive my mom’s mail – which at this point I’m not entirely sure I care about – I have to go back to my lawyer with the Canada Post form and have him fill it in, sign it and seal it, then go back to the post office downtown….Truly, I have better things to do with my time. And what am I likely to gain from it? A couple more dividend checks worth $2.46? Is it worth the bother?

I have to add, is it any wonder people are disillusioned with this federal institution of Canada Post? I think I read somewhere that it’s losing money, so our taxes are keeping it afloat. Let’s cut the funding and let it collapse, and maybe, just maybe we’d actually get “service” from the independents that would pop up. Because we sure as hell don’t get quality service from Canada Post!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

