A good day!

I think this is the best day I’ve had in over a month! I slept well last night – helped that I banished all kids from my room! – and woke up in a good mood and feeling very positive. I’ve made a few decisions in the past week that have contributed to this, I think. This past week has been a “waiting” time – there’s not much I can do to speed up the process with the lawyer and the banks et al, so I just carry on with life and wait to see how it all falls out.

I should be doing some more work at Mom’s house – there’s still some stuff in the basement and shed that I can take out. But I had decided to take this week off even from that. My current plan is to just do a few bags each week till it’s all settled. The city only allows four bags/items of garbage out each week, so I’ll do that and try to clear out as much of what is left as I can. I noticed in the shed what looks like a relatively new manual lawn mower – one of the old fashioned ones that are coming back in style. I may bring it home and see if it works come spring – if not, I’ll put it out for my own trash pickup and use the electric one – or hire my lawn guy back.

Anyhow, back to today. I did a couple loads of laundry, ran the dishwasher – twice – and tidied up the kitchen – again. I cleaned the filters for the aquarium and added a bucket of water since the level was getting low. I was watching the snow, and decided it wasn’t worth the effort to try to get out to take the kids to karate, so we had a lazy day at home. I contemplated cleaning the computer room, but decided instead to scrapbook! I haven’t so much as sat down at my scrapping table in nearly two months! I had fun! I did three layouts, all for Sean’s album. They weren’t the most creative or brilliant ones I’ve ever done, but at least I’m back in the swing of it now. By mid afternoon I was feeling tired – the stress is still working its way out of my system and I’m still playing catch up – so I curled up for a 45 min nap. And when I woke up, I realized – I was feeling – perhaps not exactly ‘happy’, but certainly content. This next year is going to be one of changes for me, big changes I think, but I also think it’s going to be a good year. I don’t think it’s going to be easy, not by any means, but I will manage and I think by the end of the year I’ll be in a much better place and frame of mind. I know there will be good days and bad days, and today was certainly one of the good ones, so if I can hang on to the good ones when the bad ones come round, I’ll make it through.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

