On Pajamas and Clowns

 
This week is the last week of summer vacation. On the one hand, I’ve had a really sucky summer so I’m glad it’s over. It sure wasn’t anything like I’d hoped it would be. On the other hand, I really don’t want to get back to the routine of work and give up my sleeping in.
I do have to admit, the last week or so I’ve been feeling much better, much more positive, and it seems like life is looking up. Maybe it was the fun and excitement of delivering buses, I don’t know, but I do feel more myself, and have more energy.
 
At least, I did, till this morning. I got out of the shower and was drying off. I bent over to dry my leg and it was like a knife went into my lower back. I haven’t had that much back pain in years. It was so bad I nearly went down on the floor, but somewhere in the recesses of my mind I realized that would likely hurt even more, so I managed to stay upright. Luckily before my shower B had emptied the dishwasher and we got the kitchen all cleaned up!
 
I had a fun day yesterday. The night before, I had asked Sean to try on his fall/winter jammies to see if any fit. I pretty much expected they wouldn’t, because he’s grown so much, and I was right. Not one single pair still fits. So now what. It’s so hard to find warm boy jammies. They seem to either wear boxer shorts or those long sleep pants. Then I had an idea. I investigated my pattern collection and found a pattern I had bought a few years ago and never used for boys jammies. It has all sizes on it, so I could use it for his current size. I dug through my fabric stash and was surprised by how much I must have gotten rid of in the past few years. I know I had gone through it all and given away stuff I figured I wouldn’t be using anytime soon, but there seems to be a lot less there than I thought. I did find a piece of red cotton with dalmatians on it, and decided to use it for a trial pair. Took me two hours, but they fit him perfectly. Which means I can now go to Lens Mill Store and buy some other fabrics to make him some sleep pants he can wear with his basic white tshirts – which he was supposed to wear with his boxers in the summer, but never did. I felt such a sense of accomplishment, and it felt so good to be sewing again! I’m looking forward to seeing what fabrics he helps me choose for some more pairs!
 
And today – well, after accepting that I am going to have a crappy day because of my back – has actually turned out kinda fun. I had made it downstairs and was on the computer when there was a knock at the front door. Thankfully Brianna was home because there was no way I’d have got there in time! It was a clown. Now, some explanation is in order here. About three years ago I agreed to participate in a project for a little girl in Tasmania. Her toy clown was travelling, visiting various cities and countries, and keeping a journal of his travels. I had originally understood that each person was only keeping the clown for a short time, then sending him on, but the last person had him for over a year and a half! However, he has arrived here, and we are plotting and planning where we are going to take him to get photos. He’s already gone for a walk down by the river with Brianna and Josh, and has duly been photographed doing so. I figure some shots of him doing a circle check on a school bus, and driving said school bus will be kind of unique. No idea what else he’ll get up to while he’s here, but I’m sure it’ll be fun. Niagara Falls perhaps?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

