Butt shuffling

 
At karate today I was chatting briefly with the dad of one of the other students. Steven is also in Sean’s class at school, and has been since kindergarten. His parents are lovely people, and I was so happy for them when they had another baby, another little boy. This little guy spent a long time in the hospital fighting meningitis, first on one side, then on the other. He’s nearly 2, and they’re not totally sure what lasting damage may have been done. He’s an adorable little guy though, with a big smile and gorgeous brown eyes. He catches on to a game pretty quick too! He was sitting on Brianna’s lap, and he kind of leaned backwards so he could see me sitting behind her. I spoke to him and laughed, and he sat back up where he couldn’t see me. Of course I played it up. "Where did he go? I can’t see him anymore!" And he leaned back down. And of course I laughed and said, "Oh, there he is, I see him now!" This went on for nearly five minutes! Nothing wrong with that little brain!
 
The reason I am mentioning it is because I had actually been sitting talking with someone else, when Brianna called me over to see something. The dad put the little guy sitting on the floor, and he immediately began to bottom shuffle across the floor! Sitting on his butt, he extended his legs out in front, dug in his heels and pulled himself forwards. I’ve only ever seen one other baby do that – my Sean. It’s the cutest, funniest thing to watch! Sean never crawled, but went straight from butt shuffling, as we called it, to walking. I told Mr Tripp about Sean doing it, and we were talking about how some folk seem to think that not crawling is a developmental problem for babies. I remember I was going to the chiropractor when Sean was doing it, and one day she watched him scoot across the floor, and advised me – in the calm manner she had – that I needed to make him crawl or he’d have problems later on. She never really clarified what those problems might be though, and everything else I read indicated that crawling, while excellent for developing upper body strength, is not necessary to normal development. And as we know, Sean is pretty normal! Well, he’s fairly laid back, very sedate, rather fastidious, and very studious, but I’d still say normal, coming from this family, lol.
 
That was my little walk down memory lane today, as I stood watching this little guy butt shuffling all over the lobby, remembering when Sean used to do that all over our house. And look at him now.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

