St Patricks Day? Thanks, but no thanks.

Tomorrow is St Patricks Day when all the world becomes Irish for a day. Even Martha Stewart had a special Irish themed show today. Not that I would ever watch Martha Stewart, but my mother in law had it on while I was there today!
Being pagan, I don’t celebrate St Patricks Day, despite the fact that I do claim a bit of Irish blood. Me auld granny was born and raised in Belturbet, County Cavan, and apparently we still have family back on the old family farmstead to this very day. (This would be my adoptive family, whose ancestry I claim as my own. Though I suppose when it suits me I could claim the Scots ancestry of my birth Armstrong family…)
 
Patrick was Scots born apparently, but was captured and sold into slavery in Ireland. After some years, the intrepid young Paddy managed to escape and return home, where he entered the ministry, eventually becoming a bishop and returning to Ireland to convert the pagans there to Christianity. Why, I don’t know, because I suspect the Irish were quite content with their pagan gods and goddesses, and it is from those gods and goddesses that the Catholic church derived a goodly number of their saints…. I’m guessing Patrick was a wee bit bitter about his enforced holiday in Ireland, and was out for revenge…. It would seem Patrick was eminently successful in his quest, since there probably isn’t a more devout Catholic than an Irish one. Probably isn’t a more devout Protestant than an Irish one either, thus accounting for plenty of religious quarrels in Ireland over the centuries…..
 
Probably the best known story about Patrick is the legend in which he supposedly banishes all the snakes from Ireland, which is theoretically why you won’t find any snakes in Ireland to this very day. The legend conveniently ignores the scientific fact that there haven’t been any snakes in Ireland since the last ice age ended. Most theologists agree that the snakes in the legend are a metaphor for the pagans. The snake, or serpent, was representative of many ancient gods and goddesses – which is why you see Adam and Eve being tempted by a serpent in the Garden of Eden. You don’t honestly believe that was a real live talking snake, now do you? Thus the legend’s deeper meaning is that Patrick overthrew paganism in the Druidic form of worship, thus paving the way for Christianity.
 
As a pagan therefore, I don’t see Patrick as someone to be celebrated. When you wear the green tomorrow, spare a moment to think of all that was lost when Ireland was converted. I’ll not be wearing green; I and many of my fellow pagans will be the ones in black. I leave you now with a slightly revised Irish blessing:
 
May the road rise up to greet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
And rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May Goddess hold you in the small of Her hand.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to St Patricks Day? Thanks, but no thanks.

  1. Maddie says:

    See you read here and learn something new…
    AS for my repeat, hell ya! I wrote it LOL
    One for me, one for everyone else…

  2. t i m says:

    Everyday is a lesson.
     
    Most people look at St Patrick\’s Day as an excuse to get drunk without knowing all the history behind the day.
     
    Sadly I happen to be one of those bad \’most people\’, sorry about that. 🙂
     
    Anyway have a good weekend.

  3. Tom says:

    What is the small of the hand?? I think that the word palm was better there.

  4. Tom says:

    BTW Sue the word Tamogatchi (SP?) came up in Japanese classyesterday. Tamago is the word of egg and if you add what they did you get a nickname for an egg. thus the meaning of the word is egg!
     
     

  5. Barbara says:

    ROFL… i KNEW i was right.. !!

Leave a Reply

